Call Us: 954-782-1700

Types of Cataracts

  by    0   0

Cataracts usually occur in adults and are age-related. There are three main types of cataracts and their names are related to the part of the lens that is affected.


  • Nuclear Cataract

    This type of cataract develops when the center of your lens (the nucleus) becomes hardened over time. This may at first cause you to become more nearsighted, and you may even experience improvements in your reading vision.  But with time, the lens gradually turns yellow and clouds your vision.

  • Cortical Cataract

    This type of cataract begins at the outer edge (cortex) of your lens and spreads toward the center of your lens.  It begins as a whitish, wedge-shaped opacities and streaks on the outer edge of the lens cortex.  As it slowly progresses, the streaks extend to the center and interfere with light passing through the lens.

  • Subcapsular Cortex

    This type of cataract develops on the back of your lens.  This type often interferes with your reading vision, reduces your vision in bright light and causes glares and halos around lights at night.

  • Congenital Cataracts

    Some people are born with cataracts or develop them as children. These cataracts also may be due to certain conditions, like myotonic dystrophy, Galactosemia, Lowe’s syndrome or rubella. Congenital cataracts don’t always affect vision, but if they do they are usually removed soon after detection.

If you experience any of these conditions, or may show signs of early cataract development, give us a call at 954-782-1700 to schedule a consultation.

Learn more about Cataract procedures and options:



About The Author

Rand Eye Institute - Excellence in Ophthalmology. Having Earned a Reputation as one of the most advanced eye surgery centers in the world, Rand Eye Institute is dedicated to excellence in ophthalmology. Connect with Google+
View all posts by

Comments are closed.

Back to Top